COMMITTEE	The Council
DATE :	16 December 2010
TITLE	Re- appointment of Members to the Standards Committee
AUTHOR	Dilys Phillips, Monitoring Officer

## Background

1. There are five 'independent members' (i.e. members without any connection with local government) on the Council's Standards Committee. The committee also includes a member representing the community councils and three elected members from Gwynedd Council.

2. The terms of office of two of the independent members - Mr Gwilym Ellis Evans and Mr Sam Soysa will come to an end on 23 February 2011. They have served on the committee since 2005.

3. The relevant regulations allow the re-appointment of independent members for one further consecutive term not exceeding four years. Both members are eligible for re-appointment and have expressed their willingness to serve for a further term. Re-appointing them would mean that the committee will not lose the experience and expertise they have gained over the past six years.

4. A statutory process of advertising and interview must be followed when appointing new independent members but is not necessary when reappointing for a further consecutive term.

## Recommendation

5. To re-appoint Mr Gwilym Ellis Evans and Mr Sam Soysa as independent members of the Standards Committee for a period of four years from 24 February 2011.